EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. — New York Giants coach Tom Coughlin believes referee Jerome Boger and his crew produced the appropriate call in ruling that receiver Victor Cruz was giving himself up and didn’t fumble right after producing a catch on the Giants’ game-winning touchdown drive against the Arizona Cardinals.
Coughlin looked at the videotape of Cruz’s 19-yard catch with roughly 3 minutes to play in the Giants’ 31-27 victory Sunday and said there is no doubt in his mind the receiver was giving himself when he went to the turf at the Cardinals’ 29.
Cruz put the ball on the turf after going down and the Cardinals recovered it, believing Cruz had not been touched down so it was a fumble.
Boger ruled that Cruz gave himself up and added the Cardinals could not challenge that form of ruling.
“I’m standing by the way the rule was interpreted by the officials,” Coughlin said. “If you appear at the way that play took location there is no question he was giving himself up and he was headed back to the huddle. I don’t know how you can call anything else.”
The NFL noted Monday that Rule 7, Section 2, Write-up 1 states that the ball is dead and the down ended as soon as a runner declares himself down by falling to the ground, or kneeling, and producing no effort to advance.
Hakeem Nicks, who caught a game-winning 29-yard touchdown pass from Eli Manning on the ensuing play, stated he was not conscious of the rule.
“I’m just glad it turned out on our side,” Nicks stated. “Initially in the course of the game, I assumed he got touched when he went down. What I saw on film it was different, but I guess you can declare yourself down and that made the call and I am glad.”
Copyright 2011 by The Linked Press